Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
- sixties keith
- Posts: 535
- Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:30 am
- Has thanked: 28 times
- Been thanked: 33 times
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
i already have an advanced settings file on my xbox used to display a custom startup video. can i add the code from the first post to this without it affecting the video and still get the cache settings set correctly?"
ive only ever noticed the cache full problem with my veetle plugin but after a few displays saying the cache is full it just disapears and plays as normal
ive only ever noticed the cache full problem with my veetle plugin but after a few displays saying the cache is full it just disapears and plays as normal

120gb hdd, vinyl magma skin, front lights, side strip lights, clear jewel mod with lights, ir dongle mod, hdd indicator. X3 with LCD many mods inc custom x3 jewel.
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
Excellent work - really a game changer for streaming with plugins.
THANK YOU!!
One quick question; is there any reason this is disabled by default that we should be aware of? For instance, what if it buffers past the available size of /Z?
THANK YOU!!
One quick question; is there any reason this is disabled by default that we should be aware of? For instance, what if it buffers past the available size of /Z?
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
ok, i have this as my advancedsettings.xlm
<advancedsettings>
<playlisttimeout>360</playlisttimeout>
<network>
<cachemembuffersize>0</cachemembuffersize>
<autodetectpingtime>500</autodetectpingtime>
<curlclienttimeout>500</curlclienttimeout>
<curllowspeedtime>500</curllowspeedtime>
</network>
<gui>
<algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
</gui>
</advancedsettings>
but all the streams breaks my system and doesn't play, any ideas?
<advancedsettings>
<playlisttimeout>360</playlisttimeout>
<network>
<cachemembuffersize>0</cachemembuffersize>
<autodetectpingtime>500</autodetectpingtime>
<curlclienttimeout>500</curlclienttimeout>
<curllowspeedtime>500</curllowspeedtime>
</network>
<gui>
<algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
</gui>
</advancedsettings>
but all the streams breaks my system and doesn't play, any ideas?
- BuZz
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1891
- Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
- Location: UK
- Has thanked: 66 times
- Been thanked: 423 times
- Contact:
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
post a debug log.
see http://www.xbmc4xbox.org.uk/forum/viewt ... p?f=6&t=65
also
is not for XBMC4Xbox. These are XBMC for linux/windows etc settings.
see http://www.xbmc4xbox.org.uk/forum/viewt ... p?f=6&t=65
also
Code: Select all
<gui>
<algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
</gui>
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:37 am
- Has thanked: 6 times
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
Is this killer feature enabled by default with the 3.3 release or will we need to enable it by advancedsettings?
If it is not enabled by default, can you give the reasoning behind making it an "advanced feature"?
Off topic. I'm both excited and bummed about the new release. Excited to try out all the new goodies, bummed because I have a lot of boxes to update
Userdata folders will transfer fine to the new build I hope!
If it is not enabled by default, can you give the reasoning behind making it an "advanced feature"?
Off topic. I'm both excited and bummed about the new release. Excited to try out all the new goodies, bummed because I have a lot of boxes to update

-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
Sorry i don't know were i got that from xD okay i will post my debug later, i just wanted to say that i somehow managed to put it playing in my little tv that doesn't suport hd, and i changed it to pal... and it worked now i got it back to running 720p ntsc and no good again i guess it's because of the ram...BuZz wrote:post a debug log.
is not for XBMC4Xbox. These are XBMC for linux/windows etc settings.
- BuZz
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1891
- Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
- Location: UK
- Has thanked: 66 times
- Been thanked: 423 times
- Contact:
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
sorry, which killer feature ? if you mean setting it to 0, then that has its own problems, and in most cases, default cache size works well.mrdally204 wrote:Is this killer feature enabled by default with the 3.3 release or will we need to enable it by advancedsettings?
If it is not enabled by default, can you give the reasoning behind making it an "advanced feature"?
Off topic. I'm both excited and bummed about the new release. Excited to try out all the new goodies, bummed because I have a lot of boxes to updateUserdata folders will transfer fine to the new build I hope!
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
okay here it goes buzz https://www.dropbox.com/s/do6ijlsaz9uhbns/xbmc.old.log thanks
- BuZz
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1891
- Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
- Location: UK
- Has thanked: 66 times
- Been thanked: 423 times
- Contact:
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
you should set dvdplayer as your default player. mplayer is unsupported. You are also trying to play a SWF file - this is not a video stream. This has no relation to the cache etc.
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:37 am
- Has thanked: 6 times
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
I did mean setting it to 0. What problems are you referring to beside the risk of running out of HDD space while streaming
- BuZz
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1891
- Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
- Location: UK
- Has thanked: 66 times
- Been thanked: 423 times
- Contact:
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
2GB limit. stuttering due to HD speed, constant disk access during playback.mrdally204 wrote:I did mean setting it to 0. What problems are you referring to beside the risk of running out of HDD space while streaming
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
- BuZz
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1891
- Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
- Location: UK
- Has thanked: 66 times
- Been thanked: 423 times
- Contact:
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
in this case, i guess not. the file it gave you was not a video stream.
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
-
- Posts: 922
- Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:42 pm
- Location: Essex, UK
- Has thanked: 18 times
- Been thanked: 109 times
- Contact:
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
Forgot to mention this but if you want to easily add the advancedsettings.xml for caching to HDD I've added it on my xbmc server. It's easy enough to make a file yourself but if you do want to use the one I made just do the following:
go to filemanager and add a source then type in http://whufclee.myftp.org
In there you'll find a section called TWEAKS and you should find the cache to HDD .xml file in there, just copy to Q:\userdata\
go to filemanager and add a source then type in http://whufclee.myftp.org
In there you'll find a section called TWEAKS and you should find the cache to HDD .xml file in there, just copy to Q:\userdata\
- Xphazer
- Posts: 524
- Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:39 am
- Location: Montréal
- Has thanked: 240 times
- Been thanked: 106 times
-
- Posts: 532
- Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 7:46 am
- Has thanked: 82 times
- Been thanked: 61 times
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
thanks guys, i watch a movie the other night, cache was nice, movie ran great with no buffering or anything movie cutting off, and you need the latest version of xbmc4xbox for thoses who dont know
, i had a 3.3.1 so i updated to the newest version and worked just fine, no changing the settings in your GUI(inside xbmc4xbox settings) only grab lees file from his ftp, thanks guys again 


-
- Posts: 89
- Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:35 am
- Has thanked: 15 times
- Been thanked: 4 times
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
if i set to 0 whats the max cache size? can we set max size and point to hdd at the same time?
cant believe it took this long to find this out.
cant believe it took this long to find this out.
-
- Posts: 922
- Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:42 pm
- Location: Essex, UK
- Has thanked: 18 times
- Been thanked: 109 times
- Contact:
Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed
Max cache size is only limited by how much space you have on your HDD, you don't need to set any manual numbers as it's deleted on playback so is only temporary storage.