Scanlines for video playback possible?

If you need any help with XBMC4XBOX, such as installing or using the software, please post it in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
XC-3730C
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 6:27 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by XC-3730C » Fri Sep 19, 2014 6:15 am

I love the look of scanlines for games like this:

Image

Is it possible to get this kind of effect playing videos? It would be awesome to watch an anime movie with the look of an arcade game...

User avatar
cashonly
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by cashonly » Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:00 am

one user has find out how to do it:
http://www.xbmc4xbox.org.uk/forum/viewt ... 047#p25047
These pretzels are making me thirsty!

User avatar
Nextelhalo
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:55 am
Location: Yoyorast Island
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by Nextelhalo » Tue Sep 23, 2014 3:51 pm

See if you can track down Philexile on here or other xbox related forums. He's a nut for scanlines and can probably guide you to exactly what you need.
Halo LE Blue (Japan Black jewel) v1.0 1.0GHZ Trusty 128 RAM 640GB Blue-White P/E LED's
White v1.4 X3 CE with X3 CP 500GB Blue-white P/E LED's Blue Jewel
Debug kit untouched

NOTTHESAME
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 7:46 am
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by NOTTHESAME » Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:18 am

This can maybe be inserted into dvdplayer, by someone, as a filter, for video playback, but I'm not a xbmc builder or insert a scan line into your skins video full screen for a quick way to get scanlines

User avatar
professor_jonny
Posts: 1246
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:41 am
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 183 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by professor_jonny » Thu Sep 25, 2014 8:22 pm

just stick a whole lot of rubber bands over your tv :-)

if you want you could get overhead projector plastic and print lines across it :-)

but in all seriousness there may be a hardware device out there to interlace the screen on some arcade game nut forum.

to do this if you were using rgb output you could do it with sync splitter frequence devider and a a video amp

User avatar
xman
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by xman » Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:29 pm

Have you tried different video leads?. Have you tried routing your power lead away from the video leads?. Have you tried the Xbox on another T.V.?.
Have you tried a different power supply in your Xbox. Have you tried the different settings in the video interlace on XBMC?.

User avatar
XC-3730C
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 6:27 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by XC-3730C » Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:33 pm

If you see the picture in my original post, that is from an emulator, which has a software filter to acheive the scanlines. I was hoping this could also be done for XBMC.

NOTTHESAME
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 7:46 am
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by NOTTHESAME » Sun Sep 28, 2014 7:44 am

Maybe if we ask for this as a request buzz can add tgis part of a player

NOTTHESAME
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 7:46 am
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by NOTTHESAME » Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:59 am

hey guys its been a while since I posted something glad to be back was away, anyways go this little trick I found online its not mine but it be great to try out for xbmc4xbox to add scanlines to video playback

download from here https://www.dropbox.com/s/f54xxwm5sl4dr ... s.rar?dl=0
place the xml file in the 720 and png in the media this should work for any skin.

please let me know as I don't have a xbox at the time and see if it works I did try it on my raspberry pi 3 kodi
works great.

i hope it works for the xbox.

ScottTwine
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:23 am

Re: Scanlines for video playback possible?

Post by ScottTwine » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:24 am

Got it working! Thanks for the link.
Right now I'm looking for a new cool website. Do you know any? Maybe canadian grand prix com is all I need? I think I'm right.

Post Reply