Upgrading hard drive

Discussion about Modding the XBOX, including hardware and software hacks.
Post Reply
Retroguy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:23 pm

Upgrading hard drive

Post by Retroguy » Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:44 pm

Hey all, it seems that the xbox (original) scene is pretty dead these days.

I've dug out my old xbox which was chipped with a duo x2 lite years ago and hasn't been messed with since. I still had the old stock 8gb hdd in it which I decided I wanted to upgrade so I could put more retro stuff on it. I had a couple of spare sata drives lying about so I ordered an ide to sata adapter, model jp103-5. I ripped an 80 pin cable out of my old desktop to use, set it all up expecting everything to go smoothly but......

My xbox will boot to the logo but can't boot anything from the DVD drive to set up my nice shiny new hdd. I've tried 2 different drives, a WD caviar blue 320gb and a 500gb seagate drive, neither works. The red led is illuminated on the adapter but still nothing.

Have I missed any steps or have I just landed myself a useless adapter?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Marty
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:22 am

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by Marty » Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:27 am

Is there a jumper setting on the SATA adapter?

Retroguy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:23 pm

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by Retroguy » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:07 am

Thanks for replying. Yes there is a jumper, 3 pin. I've tried every combination including removing the jumper completely but nothing works. The only thing printed by the jumper is master. I assume the only other setting will be slave but if I put the jumper on alternative pins I get a flashing red and error 09.

With no jumper or set to master it just freezes on the logo screen. Sometimes if I leave it long enough it will throw up an error code as well. I presume that is just a timeout though as it takes 5-10 minutes for the error to show.

User avatar
Rocky5
Posts: 957
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:27 am
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by Rocky5 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:04 pm

Unless adaptor, I take it the dvd drive refuses to load a disc if the HDD and SATA adaptor are connected?
( normally the drive will make a clicking sound as it tries to read the disc )
Download Xbox Softmodding Tool & Extras Disc
XBMC4Kids Mod


Xbox Gamertag = Connxtion
PSN ID = JCRocky5

Retroguy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:23 pm

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by Retroguy » Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:18 pm

Turns out it was the adapter. Got a new (used) IDE HDD today and it works perfect.

Thanks for the help guys.

anders
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by anders » Wed May 02, 2018 8:38 am

Got it working!
Soon this info will be no more. I'm looking for mobile online casino play. I've heard that site can be trusted. I never played there before. It's now or never.

IDE2SATA
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by IDE2SATA » Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:02 pm

hmm... strange how an adapter would change your dvd drive from reading discs ??

I have my own little problem with the dvd-drive, thought i post this here:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have a similar problem - I'm right after the TSOP. The problem i have is my box won't read burned dvd's at all.

After some research i was able to override the bios with "Rocky's Tsop installer application" which i installed on "E:" - but now, if i want to upgrade to a bigger HDD, i'm told to use "HeXen" or "Slayer" on burned disc (again) and of course, that's not an option for my stubborn xbox.

By more research i came across Rocky's version of Chimp which can be installed as well to "E:"

(So i'm hoping i can once again overlook the dvd drive issue and install the bigger drive without DVD)

I found this video by Rock - "Chimp 261812 Latest Build"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4SkGz9eeQc

Which has an option, to select TSOP'ed consoles, but i'm not sure if that is what i am looking for ... ??

maybe someone knows more - or Rocky the great master him self , if you read this by chance... :P

Coldly-Indifferent
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:01 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by Coldly-Indifferent » Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:15 pm

Are you using DVD-R media for your burned discs? If not and the disc drive works OK with official games then you should try it with ImgBurn. DVD-R is the only universally Xbox disc drive compatible media type.

If what you have is a TSOP or chipped machine and you find DVD-R does work then HeXEn or AID will walk you through the formatting and installation of a dash to a virgin master HDD. You should then use either XBPartitioner v1.3 or Rocky5's Chimp 261812 to format the extended partitions. That is particularly important for larger HDDs.

Install Chimp 261812 as instructed to Apps ie. E:\Apps\Chimp (reboot afterwards). The Chimp 261812 package comes with a lot of sub-folders and other files, including the instructions and details about supported alternative Chimp locations. Some of this may be mildly confusing for new users. It is just the "Chimp" folder you need to install in Apps.

If you have to go the cloning route because discs still do not work attach the new HDD as slave (remember to change the jumper settings) and it will clone your existing HDD no problem TSOP/chipped or softmodded. I'd advise using a SD cable rather than Component, detach any memory cards, flash drives etc and use just one official Xbox controller and only in port 1. Not doing these things has been known to cause problems when using Chimp with some Xboxes.

Obviously you choose the Chimp option for your particular mod type BUT what the difference is I do not know and I am someone who has just booted it to check that myself. As far as I can see the only difference is, for good reason, if you use the Softmod option you are refused access to the Lock/Unlock Master drive facility. A softmod HDD must be correctly locked to the Xbox in question whereas a TSOP/chipped one can be, and usually is, left unlocked.

Apart from that I can not think what difference there might be as in both cases you are cloning the same partitions C, E, X, Y, Z and, optionally, F and G. No doubt Rocky5 can explain more.

IDE2SATA
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by IDE2SATA » Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:53 pm

hi coldy! Thanks for your reply.

I was a little bit bold and went ahead... and failed...kinda :D


Here are my steps:

1. I load Chimp thru "Applications" on "E:"
2. I disconnect the 80-wire cable from dvd drive and connect it to the adapter & SSD, also i connect the molex power cable. Jumper is on slave
3. In Chimp menu i choose "TSOP/Chip Mode"
4. Now i choose "Clone Master to Slave" -then- "Selective (Select Partitions)" -then- "C,E & F"
5. Now it asks me if i want to "Lock slave drive?"

if i click on "no" it prompts me back to the beginning
if i click on "yes" it shows me "Slave hard drive locked failed"


Possible solutions:

-the cable swapping should be done within 4 seconds... plus it should be done before i start the Chimp program. This could be the problem I didn't incorporate.

-after the softmod i had a "F:" Partition - but now, the softmod has been deleted by the TSOP. Now i only have "C/E/X/Y/Z" partitions.. no more "F:" - should i just clone "C & E" partitions instead of "C,E & F" (solved)

Questions:

If i don't have an empty "F:" partition anymore since TSOP wiped it, i only clone "C & E" and add (somehow) the "F:" partition later? Or if i choose "Clone "C, E & F" it will create an large "F:" partition (solved)

Do i have to lock the new drive or can it stay unlocked (??) I would like to copy the structure to my pc as a backup, so when this drive one day dies, i can just copy over the structure to the new drive and all i need to do is add the games to empty "F:"


And yes, i was using DVD-R & Img-Burn. But it didn't want to read the disc - tried it like a 50 times...maybe, the brand of disc's doesn't taste the dvd drive... who knows. But it kind scratches me if i go to the store and by 15dvd for 10.- just to use 1, and in the worst case scenario the brand doesn't work as well. It's too much of a gamble at this point...

IDE2SATA
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by IDE2SATA » Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:06 am

:arrow: ...PROBLEM SOLVED...

Everything worked out... after a couple of bent pins and a lot of discipline it's done... Drive is formatted correctly, "F:" is created and takes the rest of the space. So to sum it up, you don't really need burned dvd's at all. There are ways around it.

Should i keep the old stock drive? Just in case the new drive (that's now inside) dies one day, so i can clone a new one, or is there an easier way?

Coldly-Indifferent
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:01 am
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Upgrading hard drive

Post by Coldly-Indifferent » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:01 pm

Absolutely.

It is more important you keep the original, locked HDD when it is a softmod but I can also think of circumstances where it would help with a TSOP or chipped machine too.

If it is still in genuine retail state ie. with the MS dash it is less useful. At the very least I would install softmod exploit/installer game saves on it but to use them you'd still need one of the exploitable genuine original game discs and that means a working disc drive too. This is the Xbox's Achilles heel and as it ages that is more likely to fail than anything else.

So IMHO better to softmod it now when everything is working, install some useful apps like Chimp 261812, ConfigMagic v1.6.1, Enigmah Region Changer, XBPartioner v1.3 and, depending what softmod you used, maybe even a full AID installation (must be done from disc).

Believe me it is the best safety net to have available for fixing problems and an easier solution to use than just an eeprom backup, which you should, of course, also have.

The retail HDD is only 8 - 10 GB and hardly much use for anything else so locked and stored carefully whether it proves useful or not you can rest easy knowing you have it as backup.

Post Reply