pico psu

Discussion about Modding the XBOX, including hardware and software hacks.
Post Reply
scroeffie
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:08 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 14 times

pico psu

Post by scroeffie » Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:24 am

hi would a pico psu work for a xbox ?

N64 freak
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:44 am
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: pico psu

Post by N64 freak » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:59 am

Hi,
with a little modification it should work. Never personally tested it but a few Xbox mini projects used them.
One thing to check is that the 5V Supply can provide enough amps. And it would be good to know if you want to use a 3,5"HDD or a 2,5" and of course if you want to keep the DVD drive.
To get the Pico PSU or any other ATX Psu to work you need a small shematic to adapter the Standby voltage and the Power on and Power ok signals.
Also depends on what revision Xbox you got!

Just let us know what plans you got and send a link with the exakt data sheet off the pico psu so we can check it for you.

User avatar
professor_jonny
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:41 am
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: pico psu

Post by professor_jonny » Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:35 am

yes they do but they are not really up the the current on the 5v line I believe and I have seen people remove caps from the motherboard to reduce load on startup so the psu does not trip out.

you also cant wire them in directly as the ps on signals and standby and ps ok voltages are not the same as a pc.

there is a small circuit to make them work with an xbox.

Tom M.
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:04 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: pico psu

Post by Tom M. » Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:30 pm

It would be great for the community if someone designed a replacement power supply (even dual voltage!), either based on existing computer solutions or the original Xbox ones. I guess in the future there is demand for them. Even today, if you want to import a (special edition) NTSC Xbox to PAL region and vice versa, you need another power supply. And butchering a working system just for the power unit makes very little sence to me.

Tom M.
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:04 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: pico psu

Post by Tom M. » Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:29 pm

Looks like someone did it in the past:
https://konsolowo.pl/shop/gb/repair-par ... upply.html

Post Reply