XBPartitioner 1.3

Discussion about Modding the XBOX, including hardware and software hacks.
Post Reply
User avatar
captainn
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:02 am
Location: USA

XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by captainn » Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:27 am

I downloaded XBP 1.2 source from here posted by idotsfan, and compiled and tested it and it would still freeze when cycling through partitions, so I changed the compare variable to ULONGLONG like Bomb Bloke said on xbox scene, and tested on a 2tb and it didn't freeze when cycling through partitions

So far so good, haven't had any problems with the drive after formatting.

I also tried on a 3tb drive, but it still doesn't get past the 2.2tb limit.

I just updated the link(source included):
https://mega.nz/#!egpghIqQ!eBJasnmRtojC ... MxKy_zxfuI

Hope it helps :)
Last edited by captainn on Tue May 23, 2017 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xman
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by xman » Mon Mar 25, 2013 2:18 pm

Using XbPt 1.2, try hitting the "B" button on the controller immediately when the XbPT screen boots. That will change to the other default partition size and keep it to 1TB and prevent it from locking up.
Does your IdotsFan 1.2 source feature the existing partition cluster sizes in the window?. Should show up in green I think it is and will say 16, 32, 64 next to the partition in the graph.

User avatar
captainn
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:02 am
Location: USA

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by captainn » Mon Mar 25, 2013 2:37 pm

Yes, it shows the green cluster size on the 1.2

the 1.3 shows it as well, and doesn't freeze at all when cycling through partition sizes
I was doing that with 1.2, pressing b to evenly distribute it, now I don't have to worry about it, that's really the only way to setup the 2tb's, not really a need for a 3rd partition because xbmc is the only thing that will see it.

Have you tried 1.3 yet?

User avatar
xman
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:30 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by xman » Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:38 pm

I have all of IdotsFan's stuff, I was his tester.
captainn wrote: not really a need for a 3rd partition because xbmc is the only thing that will see it.
That always been the case. I only use EvoXDash to confirm the cluster size.
captainn wrote: Have you tried 1.3 yet?
It's all I use.

ldotsfan
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by ldotsfan » Mon Apr 15, 2013 1:56 pm

1.2? 1.3? :P What's in a version no.....
Ldotsfan :)

User avatar
captainn
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:02 am
Location: USA

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by captainn » Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:23 pm

Yeah, I just did it to differentiate it since it fixed the freezing up. Maybe I should've gone fancy, like XBPartitioner 2.0 Alpha Edition!!

User avatar
Xphazer
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:39 am
Location: Montréal
Has thanked: 234 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by Xphazer » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:08 pm

You can't just go around and bump the revision on someone software without is permission.
Also if you could include proper diff file it would be cool.
You can post the .xbe, well for development purpose. If 1.2 was posted on the forum before I can't see why you shouldn't.
Thanks for your work. :)

User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1889
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by BuZz » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:38 pm

code should really be put on google code or github or something.

User avatar
Cissoubaka
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:58 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by Cissoubaka » Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:06 pm

Can someone post a binary ? I don't know how to compile the source.

User avatar
captainn
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:02 am
Location: USA

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by captainn » Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:09 pm

Last edited by captainn on Tue May 23, 2017 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
captainn
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:02 am
Location: USA

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by captainn » Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:12 pm

I'm not a member of google code or github or else I would post it, maybe I'll look into making an account there.

I'll try to include a proper diff file if I can find time to get to it.

r32crazy01
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 12:29 pm
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by r32crazy01 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:56 am

I found this worked mint for setting up my 2tb Barracuda.

Thanks for making the fix :)

User avatar
Cissoubaka
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:58 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by Cissoubaka » Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:12 pm

Thanks,

but i'm not sure if it worked, as the E and F partitions are sized 0 sometime, and sometime the correct size.

User avatar
captainn
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:02 am
Location: USA

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by captainn » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:20 am

usually you don't use xbp to format the E, you can do that from unleashx, usually you have to do that if games aren't loading, and icons aren't showing up for the games

the best way that I've found is right as the program loads, press B to evenly distribute the sizes
then on both F and G partitions (6 +7) press the Right D-Pad twice to decrease both partitions by 2gb, press START and Y to format
then exit the app by BACK twice
reboot the xbox and reload the app
increase both partitions by 1gb with the Left D-Pad, then press START and Y to format
then exit the app and reload it again
then press B to evenly distribute the sizes and START and Y to format

I've run into stubborn hard drives before that they wouldn't format right, and that does it most every time, sometimes I have to low level format a drive first if it still won't work

User avatar
professor_jonny
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:41 am
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 180 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by professor_jonny » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:03 am

Cissoubaka wrote:Thanks,

but i'm not sure if it worked, as the E and F partitions are sized 0 sometime, and sometime the correct size.
this might be the fact your drive is too slow to get up to speed and does not report the partition info correctly to the os.

User avatar
Cissoubaka
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:58 pm
Location: France
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: XBPartitioner 1.3

Post by Cissoubaka » Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:12 am

this drive (5400rpm) was working perfectely, last week but the F drive wasn't right formatted (only using 137Gb)

i'm thinking about the sata adaptater being damaged cause i test with another sata drive 7200rpm this one and there is the same problem.

Post Reply