Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Discussion of XBMC4XBOX development.
User avatar
sixties keith
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:30 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by sixties keith »

i already have an advanced settings file on my xbox used to display a custom startup video. can i add the code from the first post to this without it affecting the video and still get the cache settings set correctly?"

ive only ever noticed the cache full problem with my veetle plugin but after a few displays saying the cache is full it just disapears and plays as normal
Image

120gb hdd, vinyl magma skin, front lights, side strip lights, clear jewel mod with lights, ir dongle mod, hdd indicator. X3 with LCD many mods inc custom x3 jewel.
fxmech
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:15 am
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by fxmech »

Excellent work - really a game changer for streaming with plugins.

THANK YOU!!


One quick question; is there any reason this is disabled by default that we should be aware of? For instance, what if it buffers past the available size of /Z?
DonSaffadu
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by DonSaffadu »

ok, i have this as my advancedsettings.xlm

<advancedsettings>
<playlisttimeout>360</playlisttimeout>
<network>
<cachemembuffersize>0</cachemembuffersize>
<autodetectpingtime>500</autodetectpingtime>
<curlclienttimeout>500</curlclienttimeout>
<curllowspeedtime>500</curllowspeedtime>
</network>
<gui>
<algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
</gui>
</advancedsettings>

but all the streams breaks my system and doesn't play, any ideas?
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by BuZz »

post a debug log.

see http://www.xbmc4xbox.org.uk/forum/viewt ... p?f=6&t=65

also

Code: Select all

<gui>
<algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
</gui>
is not for XBMC4Xbox. These are XBMC for linux/windows etc settings.
mrdally204
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:37 am
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by mrdally204 »

Is this killer feature enabled by default with the 3.3 release or will we need to enable it by advancedsettings?

If it is not enabled by default, can you give the reasoning behind making it an "advanced feature"?

Off topic. I'm both excited and bummed about the new release. Excited to try out all the new goodies, bummed because I have a lot of boxes to update ;) Userdata folders will transfer fine to the new build I hope!
DonSaffadu
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by DonSaffadu »

BuZz wrote:post a debug log.
is not for XBMC4Xbox. These are XBMC for linux/windows etc settings.
Sorry i don't know were i got that from xD okay i will post my debug later, i just wanted to say that i somehow managed to put it playing in my little tv that doesn't suport hd, and i changed it to pal... and it worked now i got it back to running 720p ntsc and no good again i guess it's because of the ram...
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by BuZz »

without a debug log i cant really advise.
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by BuZz »

mrdally204 wrote:Is this killer feature enabled by default with the 3.3 release or will we need to enable it by advancedsettings?

If it is not enabled by default, can you give the reasoning behind making it an "advanced feature"?

Off topic. I'm both excited and bummed about the new release. Excited to try out all the new goodies, bummed because I have a lot of boxes to update ;) Userdata folders will transfer fine to the new build I hope!
sorry, which killer feature ? if you mean setting it to 0, then that has its own problems, and in most cases, default cache size works well.
DonSaffadu
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by DonSaffadu »

User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by BuZz »

you should set dvdplayer as your default player. mplayer is unsupported. You are also trying to play a SWF file - this is not a video stream. This has no relation to the cache etc.
mrdally204
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:37 am
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by mrdally204 »

I did mean setting it to 0. What problems are you referring to beside the risk of running out of HDD space while streaming
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by BuZz »

mrdally204 wrote:I did mean setting it to 0. What problems are you referring to beside the risk of running out of HDD space while streaming
2GB limit. stuttering due to HD speed, constant disk access during playback.
DonSaffadu
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by DonSaffadu »

i was opening a movie from navi-x, it should work?
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by BuZz »

in this case, i guess not. the file it gave you was not a video stream.
DonSaffadu
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 10:55 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by DonSaffadu »

okay buzz thanks
whufclee
Posts: 922
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:42 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 109 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by whufclee »

Forgot to mention this but if you want to easily add the advancedsettings.xml for caching to HDD I've added it on my xbmc server. It's easy enough to make a file yourself but if you do want to use the one I made just do the following:

go to filemanager and add a source then type in http://whufclee.myftp.org

In there you'll find a section called TWEAKS and you should find the cache to HDD .xml file in there, just copy to Q:\userdata\
User avatar
Xphazer
Posts: 524
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:39 am
Location: Montréal
Has thanked: 238 times
Been thanked: 106 times

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by Xphazer »

Very nice Lee, good idea. :)
NOTTHESAME
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 7:46 am
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by NOTTHESAME »

thanks guys, i watch a movie the other night, cache was nice, movie ran great with no buffering or anything movie cutting off, and you need the latest version of xbmc4xbox for thoses who dont know :), i had a 3.3.1 so i updated to the newest version and worked just fine, no changing the settings in your GUI(inside xbmc4xbox settings) only grab lees file from his ftp, thanks guys again :)
seriouslycgi
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:35 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by seriouslycgi »

if i set to 0 whats the max cache size? can we set max size and point to hdd at the same time?

cant believe it took this long to find this out.
whufclee
Posts: 922
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:42 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 109 times
Contact:

Re: Buffering issue / cachemembuffersize fixed

Post by whufclee »

Max cache size is only limited by how much space you have on your HDD, you don't need to set any manual numbers as it's deleted on playback so is only temporary storage.
Post Reply