[SOLVED] XBMC wont load - identify my chip/softmod

If you need any help with XBMC4XBOX, such as installing or using the software, please post it in here.
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

I added the file as you said and added the lines to turn off powersave, it didn't make a difference. Still stuck at the splash screen.

<advancedsettings>
<powersave>false</powersave>
<advancedsettings>

The xbmc.log always ends in 12:01:09 M: 48828416 NOTICE: Checking the Date!
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

If you typed it exactly as you did above it is wrong

it should be

Code: Select all

<advancedsettings>
    <powersave>false</powersave>
</advancedsettings>
Note the last line.

Please post a debug log once this is done from a fresh boot. (via pastebin.com or similar)
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

BuZz wrote:If you typed it exactly as you did above it is wrong

it should be

Code: Select all

<advancedsettings>
    <powersave>false</powersave>
</advancedsettings>
Note the last line.

Please post a debug log once this is done from a fresh boot. (via pastebin.com or similar)
I got a different log from doing that. Feels like we're making progress.

https://gist.github.com/ZeTaurin/e90ec88387a82437eb8f
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

I need a complete log (from the beginning with version info)

I also need to see it with debugging on - please add "<loglevel>2</loglevel>" under the powersave line in advancedsettings.xml
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

BuZz wrote:I need a complete log (from the beginning with version info)

I also need to see it with debugging on - please add "<loglevel>2</loglevel>" under the powersave line in advancedsettings.xml
That didn't create a log at all. I might have added that the wrong way.

<advancedsettings>
<powersave>false</powersave>
<loglevel>2</loglevel>
</advancedsettings>

It looks like this in the FTP

Image
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

Please try loglevel 1
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

BuZz wrote:Please try loglevel 1
The same, no log.
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

Zentaurus wrote:
BuZz wrote:Please try loglevel 1
The same, no log.
Never mind, my FTP didn't update. Let me try loglevel 2 again.
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

Zentaurus wrote:
Zentaurus wrote:
BuZz wrote:Please try loglevel 1
The same, no log.
Never mind, my FTP didn't update. Let me try loglevel 2 again.
Here's the loglevel 2 log https://gist.github.com/ZeTaurin/88d7171d9e562bb25621
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

Did you install over a previous version or a fresh install after deleting earlier version?

Please can you backup then remove any files in UserData/Database and try again
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

Also please test installing and running from another partition.
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

BuZz wrote:Did you install over a previous version or a fresh install after deleting earlier version?

Please can you backup then remove any files in UserData/Database and try again
The Xbox came pre-installed with XBMC from the chipping company but i deleted that folder and copied over the newest version. So it's a fresh install.
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

I suspect there is possibly some filesystem corruption or another problem causing it to die when setting up the database. The error shown is normal and it should continue on afterwards. hence trying to run it from another partition to test that theory. If not then it's some hardware difference/issue (maybe worth flashing a newer / different bios and re-setting up the system)
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

BuZz wrote:I suspect there is possibly some filesystem corruption or another problem causing it to die when setting up the database. The error shown is normal and it should continue on afterwards. hence trying to run it from another partition to test that theory. If not then it's some hardware difference/issue (maybe worth flashing a newer / different bios and re-setting up the system)
Should i copy XBMC to C:/ and run it from there?
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

if there is enough space - but E or F might be better (which ever is the one you are not using now).

I cannot really advise on the modchip/softmod stuff so if this doesn't work, maybe someone else can help with your system. It may be some old bios that had bugs (that get triggered by xbmc4xbox).
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

BuZz wrote:if there is enough space - but E or F might be better (which ever is the one you are not using now).

I cannot really advise on the modchip/softmod stuff so if this doesn't work, maybe someone else can help with your system. It may be some old bios that had bugs (that get triggered by xbmc4xbox).
It's weird because everything works perfectly except XBMC and why would the chipping company put XBMC on there if it doesn't work? And i just tried to launch it from C and it freezes at the boot screen there too.
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

No idea, but XBMC is a far more complicated app than most. It may be triggering a problem that others don't have (eg the powersave code is fine on all but a few Xboxes - which could be a hardware fault for example)
Zentaurus
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:31 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by Zentaurus »

BuZz wrote:No idea, but XBMC is a far more complicated app than most. It may be triggering a problem that others don't have (eg the powersave code is fine on all but a few Xboxes - which could be a hardware fault for example)
I'm going to download an old version and disable powersave on that, see if that works.
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

versions older than 3.5 don't have the option.
User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: XBMC stuck at splash screen

Post by BuZz »

Did you install it on another partition to test as suggested ?
Post Reply