xbox 1 + windows 7 = many problems

If you need any help with XBMC4XBOX, such as installing or using the software, please post it in here.
dlb

xbox 1 + windows 7 = many problems

Post by dlb »

hi all. let me start off by saying that i'm no bonehead but i have very little knowledge about computers so while i have searched online like crazy for solutions to my problems, there have been many posts that i simply did not understand. for example, i have no idea what FTP is or how to do it. i know it stands for file transfer protocol but that's about it. so if i ask some stupid questions, i apologize in advance.

here's my situation. i have an original xbox that a friend modded for me to stream videos from my computer on my tv. i have no idea what he did to the xbox, i just traded him some old 8-bit NES games for it and he set it up to work with windows XP, which i was using on my PC up until a few weeks ago. the xbox is connected to the computer via a network line adapter that is plugged into a wireless router. this setup worked great when i used XP as the OS.

i recently installed windows 7 32-bit and have since had some problems getting the xbox to stream vids. i have followed numerous guides online, including this one

http://www.xbmc4xbox.org.uk/forum/viewt ... f=14&t=204

and it's almost working. here is where i'm at:

1) i need to turn off windows firewall in order for the xbox to access the PC's files, which i can live with unless someone has an easy solution.

2) despite turning passwords off, the xbox still asks for a username and password ("lock preferences", it says) when i attempt to open folders on the PC. i leave both fields blank and it lets me through but i have to do that every time i open folders so again, i can live with it but if someone has an easy solution that would be dandy.