Xbox Component Cable

Discussion about Modding the XBOX, including hardware and software hacks.
User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Xbox Component Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:56 am

Ok, so i have this
Image

anyone know how i would solder it to this?
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1889
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by BuZz » Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:58 am

female to female phono adapters ? might even get one with three.

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:39 am

its YPbPr cable, i want to enable HD but without buying anything. i thought i might be able to cut off the composite bit and open the av jack and soldier in the YPbPr
Image
Image

User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1889
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by BuZz » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:50 am

Aah i see. I thought you had the xbox end and you wanted to extend it.

Well,, someone just posted some video pins outs etc, but considering I just bought an original m$ optical spdif/component adapter for £12 off ebay - its certainly too cheap for me to do some wiring. of course, your skills may be a lot better than mine!

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:55 am

yeah the pinouts are for the mobo i think, and im pretty bad at wireing, but hell, im too cheap to buy the original ms cable lol. and whats with the m$, i never understood that
Image
Image

User avatar
BuZz
Site Admin
Posts: 1889
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:50 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by BuZz » Wed Jul 18, 2012 4:00 am

i didnt even realise i did that. VERY VERY old habit from bbs/amiga days! :) sorry!

now it's more

Image

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 4:03 am

ololololololol
Image
Image

User avatar
asbo
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by asbo » Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:09 pm

GhostlyGamer wrote:its YPbPr cable, i want to enable HD but without buying anything. i thought i might be able to cut off the composite bit and open the av jack and soldier in the YPbPr
Yep you can, its fairly easy if your good with a soldering iron.
Here's a site with the pins. http://www.gamesx.com/avpinouts/xbox.htm
Cut the rubber from the bottom of the connector along the flat metal shield. Hopefully you can see what I mean in this picture:
Image

De-solder all the wires from the pins.
You'll need a multimeter to figure out which wires are which on the component cable.
Then solder on the component cable like this:
Get two short lengths of wire and solder pins 18 to 6 and 19 to 7. This will put the xbox into component mode.
Then solder
1 to Audio Right, 2 to shield (Red Phono)
14 to Audio left and 15 to shield (White phono)
9 to Pb (Blue Difference Signal), 10 to shield (Blue phono)
11 to Y (Luminance), 12 to shield (Green Phono)
22 to Pr (Red Difference Signal), 21 to shield (Red Phono, don't mix up with Audio Right)

Test it. Then tape it up with a tape colour of your choice, I chose green ;) (Mines actually a VGA cable but its the same idea)

If that's too complicated you can get xbox component cables seriously cheap on ebay, just be sure not to get a 360 one by accident.

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:13 pm

asbo wrote:
GhostlyGamer wrote:its YPbPr cable, i want to enable HD but without buying anything. i thought i might be able to cut off the composite bit and open the av jack and soldier in the YPbPr
Yep you can, its fairly easy if your good with a soldering iron.
Here's a site with the pins. http://www.gamesx.com/avpinouts/xbox.htm
Cut the rubber from the bottom of the connector along the flat metal shield. Hopefully you can see what I mean in this picture:
Image

De-solder all the wires from the pins.
You'll need a multimeter to figure out which wires are which on the component cable.
Then solder on the component cable like this:
Get two short lengths of wire and solder pins 18 to 6 and 19 to 7. This will put the xbox into component mode.
Then solder
1 to Audio Right, 2 to shield (Red Phono)
14 to Audio left and 15 to shield (White phono)
9 to Pb (Blue Difference Signal), 10 to shield (Blue phono)
11 to Y (Luminance), 12 to shield (Green Phono)
22 to Pr (Red Difference Signal), 21 to shield (Red Phono, don't mix up with Audio Right)

Test it. Then tape it up with a tape colour of your choice, I chose green ;) (Mines actually a VGA cable but its the same idea)

If that's too complicated you can get xbox component cables seriously cheap on ebay, just be sure not to get a 360 one by accident.
O.o

i may have to just buy one...

on the other hand. is is possible to make a multi-dapter? ie, leave the composite/svideo in there in case i need it and make some easy to switch jumpers for the different modes?

is shield the thing around the pin on the cable?
Image
Image

User avatar
tacitus
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:49 am
Location: Sweden
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by tacitus » Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:05 pm

Here's another guide how to convert the normal A/V cable to component:http://www.bigmech.com/misc/xbox_ntsc2comp/

User avatar
asbo
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by asbo » Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:10 pm

GhostlyGamer wrote: O.o

i may have to just buy one...

on the other hand. is is possible to make a multi-dapter? ie, leave the composite/svideo in there in case i need it and make some easy to switch jumpers for the different modes?

is shield the thing around the pin on the cable?
yes you can make one with a switch, again see the chart here http://www.gamesx.com/avpinouts/xbox.htm
e.g. if you wanted component and PAL stereo you'd connect up pins 24, 22, 11, 9 and their grounds. You'd then solder 18 to ground since it has a blue square in both PAL and component on that chart. Then you put a switch between 17 and ground and 19 and ground. You then flick that back and forth to change between PAL and component.

I "borrowed" this chunk of text from another website:
1 to Audio Right, 2 to shield (Red Phono)
14 to Audio left and 15 to shield (White phono)
9 to Pb (Blue Difference Signal), 10 to shield (Blue phono)
11 to Y (Luminance), 12 to shield (Green Phono)
22 to Pr (Red Difference Signal), 21 to shield (Red Phono, don't mix up with Audio Right)
really I think it would be better to replace the word shield with ground in this case. But yes the shield is the bit around the outside, its always grounded on cables.

I'm really bad at explaining things to people in person, let alone in text, so I'm not sure I'm making much sense :lol:

xbox cables and whatnot is probably a good and fun way to learn a bit about electronics(if you don't know already) just be prepared to try try again. So I'd advise against doing this if that's your only cable and you don't want to potentially ruin it.

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:28 pm

Hey, if its the only cable, gives you incentive not to screw up ;)
and its actually a madcatz multi system adapter (x360, ps1/2,n64/gc, and xb1) so it has svideo as well, ill pop it open and see whats there, and once i realized shield ment ground, the instructions made perfect sense. now to make switches and a VGA port too...

looks like i have to be reaaaaaaaaly careful around pin 20, might it be safer to just pull it out?
Image
Image

User avatar
asbo
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by asbo » Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:22 pm

GhostlyGamer wrote:Hey, if its the only cable, gives you incentive not to screw up ;)
and its actually a madcatz multi system adapter (x360, ps1/2,n64/gc, and xb1) so it has svideo as well, ill pop it open and see whats there, and once i realized shield ment ground, the instructions made perfect sense. now to make switches and a VGA port too...

looks like i have to be reaaaaaaaaly careful around pin 20, might it be safer to just pull it out?
hmm +12v. I dunno, just be sure not to connect anything to it. I hadn't even realised there was a 12v line in there.

I'm sure you realise but just to be sure, GND means ground.

For VGA, assuming you have a Sync on green monitor, its exactly the same as component. You just need a VGA bios or softmod. Note that you'll have to switch bioses back and forth if you want to switch between VGA and component. I found using a VGA bios with component leads gave everything a purple tint.

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:27 pm

asbo wrote: I'm sure you realise but just to be sure, GND means ground.

For VGA, assuming you have a Sync on green monitor, its exactly the same as component.

You just need a VGA bios or softmod. Note that you'll have to switch bioses back and forth if you want to switch between VGA and component.
Yes I do.

How do i find out?

I have a softmod and am planning to switch to a X2.6, could i have a Normal bios on one bank, and a VGA bios on the other, and just turn the box off and switch the bank switches for the two different bioses?
Image
Image

User avatar
asbo
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by asbo » Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:26 pm

haha well in theory it should say in your monitors manual. However I have a BENQ G2222HDL here that says nothing about sync on green in the manual but it does have it since I use it with my VGA xbox. I think perhaps the new monitors just have it these days but I can't be sure since this is the only newish(year and a half old) monitor I have. Some of the older ones I have support it and some don't but they all say in their manuals.

Yep a VGA bios in one bank and a normal in the other should work fine.

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:26 pm

i have SOG, so im good to go. if i have a softmod what do i need for VGA?
Image
Image

User avatar
Nextelhalo
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:55 am
Location: Yoyorast Island
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by Nextelhalo » Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:07 am

You can add component out ports to the back of the xbox. Here's a picture of what i mean, I got this from someone else and didnt do the mod but i've seen it done many times.
All you do is solder a few wires under on the bottom side of the motherboard where the video plugs in (see the pinout chart for which ones) and then soldered to these component
leads. This example is sloppy as hell since there's just leads hanging out there but you could drill and tap into the back of the xbox and mount them properly.

Image
Image
Halo LE Blue (Japan Black jewel) v1.0 1.0GHZ Trusty 128 RAM 640GB Blue-White P/E LED's
White v1.4 X3 CE with X3 CP 500GB Blue-white P/E LED's Blue Jewel
Debug kit untouched

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:43 am

yeah ill save that for later when i have more money :)
Image
Image

User avatar
GhostlyGamer
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Seattle USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by GhostlyGamer » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:04 am

Well 'aint THAT Jim-fuckin-dandy
Image
Image

Third party cable, ofc they wouldn't include all the pins, why did i think they would? And the wiring and jumpers are all weird. Time to put it back together!
Image
Image

User avatar
bigkidoz
Posts: 637
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Xbox Componant Cable

Post by bigkidoz » Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:52 am

Tight arse, spend the $10 and get a proper cable :lol:
Sent from my android coz apple is for pie.

Post Reply