Locking an HDD without knowing the password?

Discussion about Modding the XBOX, including hardware and software hacks.
HeckYeah

Locking an HDD without knowing the password?

Post by HeckYeah »

First off, I bought an original xbox and a bunch of games for it, all for only 5 dollars at a yard sale, a while back and the person selling it told me it was softmodded.
When I hooked everything up, I turned it on and got an error code. (forget which number it was, but nothings hooked up right now so I can't go check. Sorry!)
I looked up what the error code meant, and apparently it meant that the HDD/Hard Drive was currently unlocked. So then I looked up how to lock it, and it said I needed some sort of password and program. I have no idea what the password is and how to get it.

Is there a way I can lock the HDD without knowing the password? Is there a way I can get the password?

PS. I have no experience of modding or taking Xboxes/computers apart.
spicemuseum

Re: Locking an HDD without knowing the password?

Post by spicemuseum »

Unlucky :-(
HeckYeah wrote:Is there a way I can lock the HDD without knowing the password? Is there a way I can get the password?
No and yes respectively. It requires you to first obtain the EEPROM contents - which means taking the box apart and using an eeprom data recovery kit.
HeckYeah wrote:PS. I have no experience of modding or taking Xboxes/computers apart.
Unlucky :-(
blighty

Post by blighty »

You could try locking it with xbhdmanager using Team Assembly as the password, there is a good chance that if the hdd was unlocked it would have been done with configmagic
Heimdall

Post by Heimdall »

You can't relock with the master password, you can only unlock with the master password.....