Original hard drive soft mod error 13

XBOX, but not XBMC4XBOX related discussion
Post Reply
Jerry98vert
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Jerry98vert » Mon Dec 22, 2014 5:19 am

What happened was I was in CoinOPS 6 lite and I went to filezilla to ftp into the xbox, I know I needed to be out of coinOPS but was to quick on the draw. So the xbox went to black screen and then I rebooted and the Xbox logo comes up but no Microsoft logo and then error 13.

So I tried hdmaker and tried to rebuild the hard drive from scratch and the same thing happened then I used another old xbox original hard drive I wasn't using and rebuild to the correct eeprom to build the xbox I am having trouble with and the new hard drive is doing the same thing error 13.

Any ideas anyone?????

Thanks.

fxmech
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:15 am
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by fxmech » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:42 am

can you boot any games? like halo 2 maybe, which includes an MS dash update

otherwise, how did you softmod it originally?

see here for meanings of codes and Google for other possible solutions... http://forums.afterdawn.com/threads/xbo ... st.373255/

User avatar
spicemuseum
Posts: 906
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 75 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by spicemuseum » Mon Dec 22, 2014 2:29 pm

fxmech wrote:see here for meanings of codes and Google for other possible solutions... http://forums.afterdawn.com/threads/xbo ... st.373255/
Closer to home - at the top of this forum section:
http://www.xbmc4xbox.org.uk/forum/viewt ... ?f=12&t=27

Jerry98vert
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Jerry98vert » Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:59 pm

I used Splinter Cell to soft mod the xbox all was fine no problems CoinOPS was working fine untill I tried to ftp into the xbox. I used hdmaker to reinstall the original dash on 2 different hard drives but nothing happens.

Even when I put a disk in the xbox logo comes up and just stays there no disk works.

User avatar
Rocky5
Posts: 959
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:27 am
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 248 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Rocky5 » Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:38 pm

Jerry98vert wrote:I used Splinter Cell to soft mod the xbox all was fine no problems CoinOPS was working fine untill I tried to ftp into the xbox. I used hdmaker to reinstall the original dash on 2 different hard drives but nothing happens.

Even when I put a disk in the xbox logo comes up and just stays there no disk works.
What did you FTP over or remove? & why were you in the C partition?

Also if you installed a legit dashboard ie, untampered with your Xbox would boot.

Error 13 means the dashboard is corrupt, tampered with missing files or incompatible with your kernel, but the latter is rare.

Download a valid C partition dashboard.
http://theisozone.com/downloads/xbox/ot ... oard-5960/

Create a new XBHDM disc & fix your drives, make sure to lock them to the correct eeprom.

Then softmod your Xbox again, I suggest using mine located in my sig, you won't be able to break that one.
Download Xbox Softmodding Tool & Extras Disc
XBMC4Kids Mod


Xbox Gamertag = Connxtion
PSN ID = JCRocky5

Jerry98vert
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Jerry98vert » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:09 pm

Thanks all i did was install coinOPS lite in the original 8gb hard drive using XBMC, while I was in coinOPS not XBMC I used filezilla to go into the xbox. I didn't delete or do anything once I tried to ftp into the xbox the xbox went to black screen.

I tried to put in splinter cell not working then I did the hdmaker to recreate the original dash and still nothing error 13 then I tried another hard drive unlocked it and installed the original dash and same result error 13.

Then softmod your Xbox again, I suggest using mine located in my sig, you won't be able to break that one.[/quote]

5l1p
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:56 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by 5l1p » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:14 pm

Have you tried replacing the IDE cable and checked all connections?

Jerry98vert
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Jerry98vert » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:21 pm

5l1p wrote:Have you tried replacing the IDE cable and checked all connections?
All I did was unplug the dvd you think that might be the problem, I will check all wires tonight.

5l1p
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:56 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by 5l1p » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:04 pm

Possibly. If your building your hard drives correctly then I would suggest this is a hardware problem. I have had to do this myself 2 times but I can't remember the error code, sure enough it was down to faulty IDE cables. It worth a shot!

User avatar
Rocky5
Posts: 959
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:27 am
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 248 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Rocky5 » Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:31 pm

5l1p wrote:All I did was unplug the dvd you think that might be the problem, I will check all wires tonight.
Have you still got the DVD drive unplugged? as the Xbox unless using a bios with the DVD check patched out, requires one to be plugged in. (but this would give you an error 11)
Download Xbox Softmodding Tool & Extras Disc
XBMC4Kids Mod


Xbox Gamertag = Connxtion
PSN ID = JCRocky5

Jerry98vert
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Jerry98vert » Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:22 am

So now I am getting an error 16 and hdmaker when I try to unlockhd -a it won't unlock anymore it says "security count expired" - yes. So I don't know.

User avatar
Rocky5
Posts: 959
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:27 am
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 248 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Rocky5 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:07 am

Sounds like your going to have to hotswap the drive again

When you see an error on the Xbox that means your hdd is unlocked, hotswap it & rebuild the drive. (You only need C)

Now make sure you have the proper c drive content, if you are unsure redo the disc.
Download Xbox Softmodding Tool & Extras Disc
XBMC4Kids Mod


Xbox Gamertag = Connxtion
PSN ID = JCRocky5

fxmech
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:15 am
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by fxmech » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:48 am

Rocky5 wrote:Sounds like your going to have to hotswap the drive again

When you see an error on the Xbox that means your hdd is unlocked, hotswap it...
i find it best right when the Microsoft logo shows during boot

Jerry98vert
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by Jerry98vert » Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:28 pm

Ok thanks.

lpelvis
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:19 am

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by lpelvis » Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:26 am

Could anyone help please. Had my xbox softmodded pretty sure i formatted the hard drive with AID ,then something went wrong. Im getting the error 13. I seen various methods to hotswap but i only have a laptop but i do havr a usb ide converter but havent gotten the drive to show up. My xbox still will play games however. I tried to load slayer 2.7 but no luck. Any suggestions?

User avatar
nidge
Posts: 472
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:29 pm
Location: Norfolk, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: Original hard drive soft mod error 13

Post by nidge » Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:44 am

I think it sounds like you will need one of the exploit games to re-load your softmod? eg: Splinter Cell, Mech Assault, or 007 Agent Under Fire.
http://www.theoriginalxboxshoppe.weebly.com
http://www.ebid.net/uk/stores/Computers-and-Consoles


Crystal Xbox v1.4, Xecuter 3, 500gb sata hard disk, 1ghz CPU, 128mb RAM, HD component 720p, blue LED's.
Crystal Xbox v1.4, Xecuter 3, 320gb sata hard disk, stock CPU, 128mb RAM, HD component 720p.

Post Reply