12V Fan Upgrade with 3 wire fan

Discussion about Modding the XBOX, including hardware and software hacks.
thedudeman69

Post by thedudeman69 »

Hello all, I am a noob at modding. This is my first xbox mod. I have a v1.6 NTSC system and I am starting with changing out the fan. This is the fan I have to put in: http://www.amazon.com/Superred-CHA8012C ... B00BCP6G96. I could get another fancier one, but I have this in stock so figured I'd start with it. As you can see, it has 3 wires: red, black, and yellow. My xbox has a 3 pin connector; however, the original fan only had red and black wires. My understanding is the xbox motherboard regulates fan speed by changing the voltage sent to the red wire/center pin. Does XBMC work the same way? Do I need to cut the yellow wire or otherwise alter the wiring or can I just plug this into the motherboard as is? After I load XBMC, I do want it to be able to vary the fan speed based on the temperature I set. Thanks for your time and assistance!
Oldxboxusa

Re: 12V Fan Upgrade with 3 wire fan

Post by Oldxboxusa »

Yes it's right. Simply use that fan. Yellow is mostly a pwm fan. But when the mobo doesn't have it it mades no sense. For 12v simply lead one wire (the black one) to ground. That's it.
fxmech

Post by fxmech »

It might be useful to know the standard fan pins on the motherboard only output 6V. This basically results in at most a 50% actual fan speed when your Xbox is set to 100% fan speed.

Hard-wiring/splicing the 12V power source is easy. You can get a "Y" cable that splits the HDD's power cable off for a 12V power source and allows the connection of a standard 3pin fan.

The best solution I could think of for myself and my needs: buy a fan that also has a temperature sensor, by which the fan speed is throttled. I have not tried a fan mod yet, so I'm not sure it is the greatest solution.

To regulate the fan speed a manual variable fan speed controller is a common solution. I may end up opting for this myself.